Being True

Image

When that poor soldier Lee Rigby had his head chopped off by radical Islamists, I was outraged, mortified and emboldened. I visited sites such as the English Defense League and its American counterpart, the United States Defense League. I read books such as Because They Hate by Brigitte Gabriel, Sharia versus Freedom by Andrew Bostom, and The Rage and the Pride by Oriana Fallaci. Having been a Sufi Muslim I had read the Qur’an and had some understanding of its vehemence and totalitarianism. I filled my head and heart with hate toward not only the evil Jihadists, but for the religion itself, what it had done to so many who believed in Islam and what its goal of worldwide Sharia law. For those of you who know me, hatred is not something I specialize in. In fact, I suck at it.

I became aware through my research that the far left and Progressive agenda barreling through the US provided a rich soil for political correctness and submission to the demands of those who want to further the theocracy of Islamic law and life. I have a dear friend in Great Britain and was aware that the government there has all but seceded the nation to radical Islam. I broadened my anger and vitriol to include the political forces that threaten to undermine our great nation.

I decided to create a blog dedicated to writing about the twin threats of Progressivism and Jihadists, because it just didn’t feel right mixing in such serious subjects with my typical lighthearted ramblings. I already had a blog dedicated to sharing my growth as a Christian called Back of the Choir, so I launched Beast by the Horns to concentrate on lashing out at both the far left and radical Islam. Since I was at it, I gave birth to a third blog called Beans on the Grill to house my off-beat and hopefully humorous sense of weirdness. I used my home page as a launching pad for the blogs, and so far it is working well. But there is a problem.

As I mentioned before, hatred and anger are not my strong suites. It is absolutely impossible for a man such as myself to sustain loathing and antipathy toward anyone or anything. Quite frankly, I am such a wretched soul that I must constantly work to keep my face turned toward the infinite and abounding Grace of God, and I just don’t have time for hatred and resentment. I have an acquaintance who always, without fail, points out the things that are wrong with the world. I long ago gave up trying to get him to see blessings instead of problems. He is simply wired to complain. Bless his heart, he is a good man who has been married for over fifty years and has a wonderful and Godly family, but he is a wet blanket. I’m just not like that. Oh, don’t get me wrong, if I spend an hour with this gentleman I walk away fired up and ready to throw my shoes at the wickedness surrounding me. It’s a universal right to bitch and complain. My last article here, On Screaming, was the result of concentrating on what is wrong. Even then I couldn’t maintain my anger. But I know the extent of my own wickedness, and my potential for causing spiritual damage. I know the man I was before I became washed clean by Christ’s atoning blood, and I know that if I reject that and return to my old ways, there will be less than no hope for me. Nothing, I repeat NOTHING is going to diminish my devotion and love for God, not while I have breath in my body. I am acutely aware of my ability to sin. I practiced it religiously for many years. As for myself, whenever I allow hatred to occupy a place in my heart, my heart is diminished. It is one thing to feel angry and express it. It is quite another to harbor it and give it shelter within.

The past few weeks I have alternated my articles between my three blogs. It is as easy as falling down to write something funny, and it is as natural as breathing to share my love and gratitude for Jesus, His sustaining and faithful Spirit and my Father in Heaven. It is, however, as difficult as passing glass through my bowels to generate enough indignation to blast all those political idiots and all those absolutely evil jihadists. Therefore, I’m suspending my regular posts on Beast by the Horns unless the Spirit directs me to vent my feelings about something. Don’t be mistaken, though. I know with every fibre of my being that the threat of Progressivism and radical Islam is real and imminent. There are plenty of brave patriots in the middle of the battle right now, who have what it takes to fight with their words and actions, and I support them wholeheartedly. If called I will join the fray, if it be God’s will for me. For now, however, I’m not going to pressure and force myself to produce fury and ire. If you take this decision as a sign of weakness, you are gravely mistaken. If I’ve helped you understand that each of us contribute toward the cause of liberty, justice and righteousness in our own way, this article has served this purpose.

Use your unique skills to resist and defeat the forces of evil, and know that you are not alone.

Leave a comment